Texas consumers can use both the Federal Odometer Act and the Texas Deceptive Business Practices Act to sue sellers in odometer fraud cases. Other forms of automotive fraud include on-time delivery scams, incorrect credit scores, and failure to disclose a new vehicle's damage history. Yes, you can sue a car dealer for lying to you in some situations. Often, buyers buy cars from private sellers rather than from a dealer because the private seller may be selling the car at a lower price.
The manufacturer's warranty may include the cost of repairing specific mechanical or electrical problems in parts of your car. If you buy a “lemon,” meaning a car that has defects that can't be reasonably repaired, Lemon's laws help consumers find relief in the form of cash settlements, buybacks, or even replacement vehicles. Basically, these guarantees indicate that the car is in good condition to be sold and can be used for the buyer's specific purpose (if the buyer indicated the purpose to the seller at the time of purchase). However, today, this practice is not limited to only private used car dealers and buyers should consider when buying a new or second-hand car.
If you want to sue an auto dealer for negligence, you'll need to prove that the standard of care the dealer owed you was breached because it was below what a reasonable person would. The best practice is to fill out a sales bill when making a car purchase with a private seller and taking this sales bill to the DMV. Before buying, you can also visit the BBB website and look up your car dealer to see if they had any problems in the past. For example, you bought a warranty when you bought the car and pay for repairs after having mechanical problems.
The DMV publishes guidance on common problems with car dealers. These are some of the topics covered (mandatory disclosures) that car dealers must provide to you (use the word certificate when selling a used car), (buying a used car) and the option to cancel the contract within 2 days. The car dealer can offer you a variety of products, such as extended warranties, nitrogen-filled tires, window tinting, interior or exterior protection packages, and other products. For example, if you want to file a complaint about the car dealer who sold you a new or used car, you can file a complaint against the dealer with the BBB.
Most states have a time limit for car dealers to give you the title to the car you bought, it's not a long time limit, and they usually only have about 30 days. To learn more about the auto fraud laws in your state and how to file a lawsuit if you think you've been a victim of this practice, talk to an experienced auto dealer fraud lawyer in your state today. In addition, unlike dealerships, private sellers are not required to sell the car with a buyer's guide (more on this below).